Microsoft Leap: Application Process

Microsoft Leap: Application Process

·

2 min read

Microsoft Leap Apprenticeship Program’s mission is to recruit, develop, and upscale unconventional talent for employability into the technology industry worldwide. The program has been running for some years and is held across 6 locations. They've previously run 6 different pathways but launched the Data Analyst Cohort in Nigeria this year.

The program is run in collaboration with a Microsoft partner. In my case, that is Wragby Business Solutions & Technologies Limited. The company has a track record of partnering with Microsoft on numerous programs that train Nigerian youths and provide working experience. With the high unemployment rate in Nigeria that is very exemplary.

Early in January, I got numerous messages on the Microsoft Leap Program which had just launched their first Data Analyst Cohort worldwide. This was very timely for me and my tutors at Stutern encouraged me to apply

APPLICATION

There was a portal that opened for a period of 2 weeks so I would advise you to prepare your application early enough. We were required to submit the following during the application;

  • Your CV in a git gist format.
  • An Essay on "Why are you interested in this pathway?"
  • An Essay on "Describe a project that you completed. What was the most challenging part of the project? How did you manage that challenge?"

My journey to data science is well documented in my personal journals so I was able to write a very detailed story on my interest in the pathway. Also, at the time of my application, I was enrolled in the Stutern Graduate Accelerator Program and was working on a project with a major challenge. I took the opportunity to work through my project and write about my challenge all at once.

INTERVIEW

I was interviewed by the Program Manager for Microsoft LEAP Nigeria and 4 representatives from Wragby Business Solutions. The questions were in two parts, behavioral and technical questions. All the questions were within the scope of my technical qualifications stated in my CV and Essays.

The timeline after the interview was quite brief and straightforward. I was informed that I got admitted into the cohort a week before we were required to start the program. We were given some Microsoft Learning paths to complete in order to warm up for classes.


This post is a guide for anyone planning to apply for the program in the coming months. When the program is completed in a month's time, I would be sharing my experience and some of the amazing things I and my fellow cohorts have been able to come up with.

If you have more questions, you can reach out to me on linkedin